LSFF 2023 Announces Jury



Monday 19th December, 2022

LSFF 2023 Announces Jury

We are delighted to announced year’s festival jury; selected for their breadth of industry experience across filmmaking, producing, curating and talent development: artist, academic and filmmaker Maryam Tafakory, BFI Network Talent Executive Aaliah Simpson and film programmer and founder of Brixton Community Cinema Abiba Coulibaly.

Maryam Tafakory

Maryam Tafakory (b. Iran) is an artist filmmaker whose textual and filmic collages interweave poetry, documentary, archival, and found material. Her work has been exhibited internationally including at MoMA Doc Fortnight; IFFR Rotterdam; ICA London; True/False; Pergamon Museum; M HKA; and Anthology Film Archives amongst others.She was awarded the Flaherty/Colgate Distinguished Global Filmmaker in Residence (NY) in 2019, and she received a MacDowell Fellowship in 2022.

Aaliah Simpson

Aaliah Simpson is one of two BFI NETWORK Talent Executives for London. She has supported and developed short filmmakers including Adjani Salmon and writers including Isher Sahota. Before her focus switched to BFI NETWORK, she worked more broadly across Film London’s Talent Development and Production Department, where she coordinated the Production Finance Market’s New Talent strand and the Film London Labs series, as well as various other training and development events, including for BFI. She graduated from the NFTS’s prestigious Script Development diploma in 2021.

Previously, she worked for FilmFixer sourcing locations for productions, and in on set production across an array of shorts.

Abiba Coulibaly

Abiba Coulibaly is a film programmer with a background in critical geography, interested in exploring the intersection between ethics and aesthetics. She runs Brixton Community Cinema, a pay-what-you-can pop-up cinema that attempts to make independent cinema more accessible in Lambeth.

Skip to content